Laughing in the face of anger

We have decided to forgo paying a cable bill and have instead invested in NetFlix.  And are taking full advantage of its services.  (An aside, having evenings without plans is awesome).

Last week Transformers 2 arrived and I agreed to partake.  Heck, this cool girl played with (and broke–sorry Chris) her share of Autobots back in the day.  I was digg’n it, despite the overly sexy girlfriend and bizarre college scenes.  But then, somewhere around 90 minutes into the movie (just as I thought it was ending) the protagonists were magically transported to Sahara Desert and continued on fighting…for another hour.  My favorite part was when the leader of the Decepticons (read: bad robots) finally yelled “Begin our assault!”

Wait.  What have the last 120 minutes been about? I thought the assault had already begun…

It was about this point I went to bed.  And, admittedly, in a bit of a gruff.  I couldn’t believe we’d wasted all night with that movie.

When it was finally over Joe went to the kitchen to began the dishes.  I was still a bit peeved.  But as the water ran and he stood over the sink I could hear him, in a deep rolling voice, telling the platters and bowls that he was Optimus Prime and was going to save the world.

5 Comments

Filed under marriage

5 responses to “Laughing in the face of anger

  1. I *just* watched this with my friends on Saturday night.

    All we wanted was stuff transforming into really cool things and explosions.

    Mission accomplished.

    But, gee, does that camera love Megan Fox or WHAT?

  2. transubstantial

    haha totally a boy movie.

    when we cleaned your apartment I noticed your netflix and I almost made steph and aaron watch with me but they had adoration so we couldn’t stay. next time I’m sneakily in your apartment, next time.

  3. I remember thinking the same things during that movie! That girlfriend is useless in both movies, and is obviously just there for the sex appeal. When we watched that movie in the theater I remember thinking I had not smuggled in enough rations as the movie went on and on and on.

  4. Margaux

    I watched it in Spanish in Ecuador. Maybe that’s why I thought it was cool, but the voices are funny. Also when I’d seen it, I had not seen a tv for about 3 weeks. hehe

Leave a Reply

