Waist’d

To preface: I am now married.  I am married to Joe.  It is likely that henceforth his name will appear in further entries.

_______________________________________

Over the past four years I had slowly cut down on my meat intake, to the point where I realized I was only eating chicken breasts and lean turkey once or twice a week.  It wasn’t anything intentional–but after years of thinking under the guise of Weight Watchers, I no longer found the place in my food consumption for red meat.

This past weekend Joe and I headed to Costco for a leisurely Saturday of shopping in bulk.  We left with 8 pounds of ground beef and 2 pork loins.  I’d planned out this week’s menu, so we also had to make a stop at a grocery store for breakfast sausage, panchetta, and 5 pounds of chicken.  Stocking it into the fridge I realized I have never owned so much meat in my life.  The whole bottom shelf was full!

Mind you, it will take us many months to eat all that beef (thank goodness), as I’ve frozen most of it, but saw it as a testament of how marriage changes things.  Including diets.

And I hate to admit it, but I’m enjoying all the meat intake more than I had ever intended.

Dear Waistline,
Stay put.
Sincerely,
Mrs. White
6 Comments

Filed under food, marriage, observation

6 responses to “Waist’d

  1. HAHAHAHA!

    How more appropriate that your first post after being married is about eating, food & diet changes.

    Congrats again!

  2. : ) So happy to have you back in my updated subscriptions list. It makes me smile.

    I hope you’ll save room for some bacon though.

  3. congratulations on your marriage and brightest blessings

  4. When I married Ron, I found my freezer suddenly full of candy and ice cream. 🙂 We were talking about how much we miss your blog at your wedding (which was lovely, btw!!!)-glad it’s back. Love, Rosie

  5. carlyslp

    Sharing all the sentiments re: how good it is to see you posting again! I’ve missed you (in more ways than just electronic). I can definitely relate to the dietary changes post-marriage. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten more saltines in my LIFE than I have in the past 2 1/2 months after marrying Paul.

    Anyway, happy marriage. See you very soon, please? : )

  6. Paul Parkinson

    Whew! If I hadn’t seen you with my own eyes, I’d have thought you’d been abducted by aliens, not just Joe. Will he let you blog more?

    Oh, and by the way, I’m told training has started…..

Leave a Reply

