living in the moment/the not quite yet

This street is full of people who had a passion and decided to do something about it.  It is full of small business started by people who love what they sell–shoes, their personally designed clothing, coffee, pizza, stylists, bulk tea, cooking classes, custom framing, art work, obscure books, wine, “designer” flowers, an Irish pint, and–best of all–high quality food.  With the exception a Starbucks, there are no chain-businesses–at least nothing that extends beyond an additional store or two.  This says to me that people are still out there opening up shops because they have great ideas and long to share their passion with like-minded individuals.  And towns like this one allow them to thrive.

On the weekends when I know I’m in for the long haul I like to put our dining room table up against the northernly window so I can look down to the street as I take mental breaks from studying.  I thrive upon the idea of doing something you love to do: open a business to help others, letting money be a secondary motivation.  With all the Walmarts and Starbucks and Olive Gardens in the country, it brings my heart such warmth to know that it doesn’t have to be that way.

Sometimes I think about my business being on this street.  I can picture myself, coffee in hand, scarf around my neck, opening up shop early in the morning.

No, wait, that is Kathleen Kelly.
But it might also be me.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “living in the moment/the not quite yet

  1. Carly

    Can I be your business partner? That sounds idyllic.

  2. slightlyignorant

    Your town sounds adorable! Small, independent shops are the best – they feel homey and interesting.

    Sounds like you live somewhere where you could definitely open a small shop and make a living out of it!

  3. What would your shop have?

  4. awww… i was totally thinking of “you’ve got mail” through your whole post!

Leave a Reply

