register’dd

Yesterday Sandy and I went to Bed Bath & Beyond to shop wedding gifts for the entourage of showers and weddings forthcoming this summer.

I had two registries to pick up–one wedding in a week, one for a shower and wedding later in the summer.  I became hopelessly overwhelmed by the whole thing, mostly because I found the process so…strange.  I mean, I suppose you’re throwing this big party so it is only proper that people bring expensive gifts.  I feel so funny buying things like silverware sets or bed sheets because they are so impersonal.  “Hey, where’d you get these great napkin rings?”  “Oh, the Browns bought them for us.  Aren’t they great?!”

You already know what you’re going to get.  And hardly any of the gifts have that touch of, “that was so thoughtful of him/her.”  And moreso, I was a little weirded out at the idea of buying bedsheets or a shower radio.  Something about those items screams naked–and that is just NOT a place I want a gift that I bought to go.

I’m probably looking at this the wrong way, but the whole thing stressed me out to no end.  Like, I had to take a break and come back to the kitchen section because I simply couldn’t decide on the right combination of items that were in the store, cost the right amount of money, and somewhat went together (“gee thanks for the toothbrush holder and the doormat…?  How considerate of you.”)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “register’dd

  1. For wedding gifts, I completely avoid registries. I look at the couple (or the bride/groom) that I know and find a gift that best reflect their love.

  2. My best friend from home is getting married this summer. On her gift registry is a pillow. Seriously.

  3. maschinenbau

    the worst is when you wait ’till the last minute, then the only thing left literally is like the toothbrush holder, or a hamper, or garbage can, etc.
    The wife and I still talk about what we got in reference to who got them for us, so at least you get to be part of a legacy.
    Thanks for the papal blessing, it was very considerate of you!

Leave a Reply

