“If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspision love actually is all around”

I actually knew the day it was over.  I just fought it until the bitter end, though you’d given up long before I had understood.  I stepped off the plane hoping for you to be there.  But you were not.  And that was it; with that action you’d closed our book.

Remembering that your favorite movie featured the arrivals gate of an airport, perhaps the happiest place on earth, I had this silent hope that you would be there waiting for me.  I know.  It was probably too much to ask; but I’d passed through so many times before, often alone, and this time I wanted to see your face there to greet me.  To take me home.

There was a sadness as I came through customs and exited the gate–but it was more a slap of reality.  I rode the train home in silence wondering what the next step would be.

I no longer think of you with pangs of hurt.  It was a difficult time, and I remember thinking, “I will one day look back and wonder how the hell I made it through.”  And I do.  I wonder how I made it through.  But I did.  And I have you to thank for the strength that I gained.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to ““If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspision love actually is all around”

  1. Ashlee

    Weird. I just watched this movie.

Leave a Reply

