“My fellow nerds and I will retire to the nerdery with our calculators.”

The office I work in has three different organizations/businesses functioning completely separate of each other within it.  Yet, we share the same space.  The same copier, the same walk ways, the same lunch room.

One of the businesses has something to do with computer programming.  As such, the scale is tipped in favor of the male gender.  As I walk to the break room (which I do quite often) they sit, slouched in their chairs, eyes glued to the screen.  There is usually an open bag of chips accompanied by a soda can to the left of the monitor.

I work really hard to keep my head up when I walk and say hello to those I make eye contact with.  Yet, these men always divert their eyes.  I assume my feminine nature must make them all kinds of nervous.  Which, in turn, makes me nervous.  Have I done something wrong?  Is there a reason you cannot return my hello? Isn’t the office supposed to be a somewhat social place?

I know they can talk.  I hear them.  Especially on days like today, when their boss’s office remains vacant.  Once, I even made a joke as I passed by a few of them–at which they laughed–but it obviously didn’t break the ice.

Not that I want anything more than a hello.  I mean, we don’t even have to be friends.  But their social awkwardness makes me increasingly awkward.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to ““My fellow nerds and I will retire to the nerdery with our calculators.”

  1. transubstantial

    ok so I have a story about nerdy guys interacting (or not) with girls but I didn’t blog it because I didn’t think people would understand. you kind of have to be in that situation before you get how truly ridiculous these guys can be. anyway I, being in physics and female, feel your pain, and I try to do as much to encourage them as I safely can. be careful, because if you talk to them they might ask you out.

  2. transubstantial

    ps I kind of love their social awkwardness, because next to them I look like…someone with great social skills.

  3. hey…being in IT, i wonder how certain male geeks are able to find gf to being w/, not to mention breed, seeing how they are so awkward/shy around women. then there’s me…crap!

  4. Kate,

    First: Luuuke, Luuuke! I am your Faaather. La La Lo Laa Lu. (that was from Star Wars)

    Second: I’ll have you know that I’m one of those eyes glued to the screen computer programmer types, although I’ve never had the aversion to females that you describe here – perhaps thanks to you. My office has a couple of programmers that could be described as socially akward, but the majority of us are well adjusted. In fact, we recently hired a *gasp* female programmer!

    Anyway, it probably not just you – the nerds probably have trouble talking to anyone. My suggestion: crack a joke on the nerdiest subject you can think of. Lord of the Rings, Transformers, Star Wars, and Flux Capacitors are all a sure hit.

  5. Pingback: Another encounter. « Keeping Awkward in Style

  6. In article you define very well about business. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

