Trains, Planes & Automobiles

So much to say!  Mostly, it feels weird to tell people that I'm moving to New York in a week.  I'm excited, but I'm feeding off of everyone else's excitement once I tell them where I'm going.  I really am stoked, but I'll feel better once I'm moved in and started working.  I know I am getting a little nervous, though, becuase I have this habit of having bad dreams about packing before I go someplace new.  Had one of those a few days ago.  I know what I'm getting into, but at the same time, a lot of it is unknown.  I'm pretty proud of myself for doing a  lot of planning ahead, but at the same time not freaking out about the things I dont' know yet.  The way I see it, I'll have plenty of time to figure things out when I get there.

Anyhow, the latest adventure occured in Chi-town.  Greg drove in from Ohio to see me before I go and I took him to the city on Saturday.  We took the train to La Salle Street, and then went up to the 103rd floor of the Sears Tower.  Don't worry, we took the elevator.

We then went to Millenium Park where I got made fun of for my timbuk2 bag.  At least the guy didn't call me Katie.  While in the park, Greg and I were able to further prove that you can never get away from Newman people–we saw the two blonde sisters that work in the caf and this guy, Peter–all of which we ran away from before they saw us because we don't like to make small talk.

We met Ashley, Liz, and Julius by Buckingham Fountain for the most wonderful picnic.  We ate next to the lake under these trees that kept giving off oatmeal.  It was beautiful, as is this couple:

Next, we took a bus to the zoo and after about 30 minutes of looking for monkeys, we ran away because the rain tried to scrape my face off.  It was so gross.  I think I'm still picking sand out of my hair.  We hid in an apartment building and got to watch girls with little amounts of clothing try to find shelter.

This is us on the bus to Ash and Liz's apartment after the rain.  We weren't too wet.  My real question is, where is Greg's body?

After saying goodbye to the girls, Julius drove us to Scozzi for dinner.  It was fantastic!  We left there at 6:08 trying desperatly to catch the 6:40 train home.  Things happened, and we made it to the station at 6:41.  Poo.  By this time I just wanted to sleep.  We spent the next 2 hours at the Gospel Festival watching people rock out to Praise & Worship. 
It was entertaining.

On the train ride we played “guess what sex that person is” and finally made it home just in time for SNL reruns.  Thanks for a great day everyone.  Love you!

Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

