You say "goodbye." I say "Hello."

Classes are over. My college career is halfway over. Weird.

I've been working in the stacks a lot and, because its the end of the year, listening to the CD that Sara made us all for graduation 2 years ago. I listened to it all the time then. I remember my last day of high school–I celebrated by going for a run, and it was beautiful. I don't even like to run, but there was something about listening to “School's Out For the Summer.”

As I shelved books yesterday, I couldn't help but realize how much my life is the same as it was two years ago. Have I progressed at all? Am I the exact same person, just in a different geographical location?

I find myself preparing for the summer. I realize I am getting ready to step into something completely alone, completely unknown. I can only wait for it. Reminds me of marching.

There is still some man pulling at my heart strings, but soon we will part ways, hopefully to still be friends. Hopefully. Its hard for me to know what to do in the meantime. I know this experence all too well–reminds me of leaving for tour.

When I come back I'll be a different woman. A little older, a lot stronger, and slightly more understanding of what it means to be a human living somewhere outside of a comfort zone. Yep. Two years ago.

Is this a bad thing? No. Just a bit surprising when I reflect on all that I've been through. I have a feeling I'll be seeing this pattern again over the next two years as I finish my undergrad, then again as I take a step into the real world. Hopefully Sara's CD will last me until then.

Leave me one. Make me smile. (This means you)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

