Emergency Girls, Diary of Signal

Well, I'm back. But not for good.

It is so good to be back with my family for a while, but I have to admit that NYC was AMAZING. What a trip.

I was a little worried the trip had gone sour after throwing up three times in a matter of 2 flights. I had managed to use up all the barf bags and had to actually ask for more. By the way, is “barf bag” the proper term? I felt a little funny asking the flight attendant for new ones.

After 2 flights, a bus ride through Harlem, and a subway ride, Liz and I arrived at our hostel. It was basicly a hole in the wall, but it was perfect for us. 2 beds, a fridge, a sink, and a microwave for $60 a night.

We did SOO much sightseeing. But I have to admit that one of my favorite things about New York is listening to the natives talk to eachother on the subway. I often felt like I was in a Saturday Night Live skit. When its all said and done, I feel like I have a handel on the subway system.

At the hostel, we also met and hung out with some hottie (hehe) 17 year old boys who made us realize that we were happy not to be teenagers anymore. The best part of this encounter was this conversation:
Curly haired boy: Can I kiss you?
Me: No. But thank you for asking.

Liz and I stood in so many lines this week. We stood in the rain for tickets to a Broadway show and played “I-spy” on Times Square. And no, we did NOT go see Lazer Vaudville (as tempting as it sounded *sarcasm*), but rather, saw Kathleen Turner in “Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?”. Wonderful.

Best purchase: a $2.50 t-shirt.

I did get a letter from the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum asking me to intern there this summer. I visited the museum while we were in New York. So, beginning in June, I will be living in New York City (where am I living? I'm still working on that, could use your prayers!) and cataloging art-deco pictures taken by Therese Bonnie during World War I for 40 hours a week. 🙂

Happy Easter, fans. I miss you all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

