25974

Today I had a day.  Not a good day.  Not a bad day.  It was one of those days where the good and bad seem to cancel each other out and everything just . . . is.

I woke up extra early to take care of some business before the usual activities of chapel time and then breakfast with Greg and the Sisters.  Class at 8:30.  Afterwards I went to TIS to return some books.

Its been a struggle, but I made the decision to only take 12 hours this semester.  I feel embarrassed to admit it, considering I've taken 18 before and it’s been relatively easy.  But with two 400-level classes combined with all my extra-curriculars and work I feel like I'm doing the right thing.  I'm stressed already anyhow (not a good sign).  But if my math is right (although it could be wrong, which is why I'm taking Math 118), I only need 36 more hours on this campus to graduate–ie 3 semesters of 12 hours each. (One semester I'll be abroad, totaling 4 semesters)

So, back to TIS:  Returned books.  $80.  Cha-ching!  That was a nice wad of cash to carry home.  I decided to use it on gas money for my road trip to Holland, MI on Friday.

Paid some bills.  Read.  Slept for far too long.  Dinner.  Night Class: Information Ethics, LIS 491.

So this class is both grad and undergrads.  I didn't think much about it, I'm smart, I can keep up, I tell myself.  I neglected to tell myself about the fact that the majority of grad students in Library Science have been working on another career for the past 20 or so years, and have returned to school after a mid-life crisis/ revelation.   There are 15 of us total, sitting around a table.  I have a few friends from past classes.

The introductions begin.  “I've been a lawyer for the past 5 years, one of which I was a judge.”  “I have an undergrad degree in psychology, a masters in philosophy, I'm working on my LIS masters, then heading to Law School.  I currently work in the music industry.”  “I've been a lawyer for the past 15 years, having worked thousands of cases.”  “I'm a sophomore in Media Studies.”

(Everyone else.)  (Me.)

I felt so small.  Its going to be an interesting class, mind you, and I think I can keep up with it all, but I hesitate to even consider raising my hand.  They're all spouting off words and acronyms I've never heard and I'm still trying to figure out what “ethics” actually means (and did I spell in right in my notebook?)  Oh man.  Now I realize why I'm only taking 12 hours.

And one more thing. Course packet for LIS 491: $81.

Current balance: -$1.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

