on the road again

I’m going to be honest: I had only run once since the half-marathon.  I can feel it in my legs…and moreso, I can feel it in my waist-line.  I can give you a thousand excuses why I hadn’t made an effort to get out before the sun, but this week I couldn’t take it anymore.  It has only been a few miles at a time…but it is something.  And its good.

On this sleepy Saturday morning I was just finishing up my run (admittedly, I was tired) and was distracted by the sound of light-hearted guitar cords from across the street.  The business with the red awnings always had music, even at that hour.  I was stopped short as the bass began.  I recognized the song–U2.  “Where The Streets Have No Name.”

Yeah.  Please add this moment to the movie you make of my life.

I want to run – I want to hide
I want to tear down the walls that hold me inside
I want to reach out and touch the flame
Where the streets have no name

How perfect.  How sacramental.  How very TOB.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “on the road again

  1. slightlyignorant

    Coincidences like that are always a joy. It makes you smile for the rest of the day just cause something little and weird like that happened.

  2. Paul

    Things like this make me miss a city. Then I think about being out and about in Macon in the early am and I always see people who say “Hi, Paul” and think, this is pretty nice. I’d also say TOB but I don’t know what it means.

  3. Pingback: And It Goes On and On My Friends… « .:: PhamPants

Leave a comment